Matanuska-Susitna Borough Assembly Special Meeting

BOROUGH MAYOR Edna DeVries

BOROUGH CLERK Lonnie R. McKechnie, CMC

BOROUGH MANAGER Michael Brown

BOROUGH ATTORNEY Nicholas Spiropoulos

# **MEETING MINUTES**

ASSEMBLY CHAMBERS 350 EAST DAHLIA AVENUE, PALMER

ASSEMBLY SPECIAL MEETING

5:00 PM

**TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 16, 2021** 

# **Election Certification**

## I. CALL TO ORDER

The speical meeting of the Matanuska-Susitna Borough Assembly was held on Tuesday, November 16, 2021, at the Borough Assembly Chambers, 350 E. Dahlia Avenue, Palmer, Alaska. The meeting was called to order at 5 p.m. by Mayor Vern Halter.

## **II. ROLL CALL**

**Present:** 7 - Assemblymember Tim Hale, Assemblymember Stephanie Nowers, Assemblymember George McKee, Assemblymember Robert Yundt, Assemblymember Mokie Tew, Assemblymember Jesse Sumner, and Assemblymember Tam Boeve

#### **III. APPROVAL OF AGENDA**

The agenda was approved as presented without objection.

# **IV. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mayor Elect Edna DeVries.





Tim Hale, District 1 Stephanie Nowers, District 2 Dee McKee, District 3 Robert Yundt, District 4 Mokie Tew, District 5 Jesse Sumner, District 6 Ron Bernier, District 7

# MATANUSKA-SUSITNA BOROUGH

350 East Dahlia Avenue, Palmer, Alaska 99645 - 907-861-8683

#### **V. AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION**

The following persons thanked Mayor Halter and Assemblymember Boeve for their service: Ms. Linda Oxley and Ms. Roberta Weiner.

The following persons thanked Mayor Halter, Assemblymember Boeve and Assemblymember McKee for their service: Mr. Ron Johnson, Mr. Justin Saunders, and Mr. Todd Smolden on behalf of Governor Dunleavy.

The following person spoke to his friendship with Mayor Halter: Mr. John Anderson.

The following person spoke to the passing of Mr. Eugene Carl Haberman: Ms. Dee McKee.

The following person thanked the Canvass Board, Clerk's Department, Mayor Halter, Assemblymember Boeve, Assemblymember McKee, and the rest of the Assembly for their hard work. Expressed congratulation to newly elected: Mr. Dan Mayfield.

## VI. ITEMS OF BUSINESS

Mayor Halter introduced newly elected School Board member Ms. Jubilee Underwood.

#### A. Canvass Board Report

Ms. McKechnie introduced the Canvass Board.

Mr. Theresa Thompson, Canvass Board Chair, provided the Canvass Board Report.

# B. Certification of the November 2, 2021, Regular Borough Election

Assemblymember Boeve moved to certify the election results for the November 2, 2021, regular Borough election, as presented by the Canvass Board. The motion passed by the following vote:

Yes: 7 - Assemblymember Hale, Assemblymember Nowers, Assemblymember McKee, Assemblymember Yundt, Assemblymember Tew, Assemblymember Sumnerand Assemblymember Boeve

#### C. Oath of Office for Newly Elected Officials Taking Office November 22, 2021

Ms. McKechnie administered the oaths of office to newly elected Mayor Devries, Assemblymembers McKee, Assemblymember Sumner, andAssemblymember Bernier with terms beginning November 22, 2021.

## VII. MAYOR, ASSEMBLY, AND STAFF COMMENT

Mr. Spiropoulos congratulated the newly elected officials.

Ms. McKechnie congratulated the newly elected officials.

Assemblymember Sumner thanked the Canvass Board for their hard work.

Assemblymember McKee thanked the Clerk's office and the Borough Attorney for being available to assist him.

Assemblymember Tew thanked the Canvass Board for their hard work and congratulated the newly elected officials.

Assemblymember Hale thanked the Canvass Board for their hard work and congratulated the newly elected officials.

Assemblymember Nowers Thanked the Canvass Board for their hard work and congratulated the newly elected officials.

Assemblymember Yundt Thanked the Canvass Board for their hard work and congratulated the newly elected officials.

Assemblymember Boeve thanked the Canvass Board, and the Clerk's office for their hard work and congratulated the newly elected officials.

Mayor Halter extended his congratulations to newly elected officials.

# VIII. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 5:35 p.m.



Mayoral Signature and Clerk Attestment

For

November 16, 2021, Assembly Special Meeting Minutes

(3 pages)

EDNA DEVRIES, Borough Mayor

ATTEST:

LONNIE McKECHNIE, CMC, Borough Clerk

Minutes Approved: 12/07/21